<![CDATA[Brendan Doherty SoccerNewsday.com Article Feed]]>http://www.soccernewsday.com/Thu, 19 Jul 2018 18:20:09 +0000Wed, 06 Jul 2016 09:14:55 +000060A New Look For El Trihttp://www.soccernewsday.com/usa/a/1942/a-new-look-for-el-triIn Mexico's first game since the end of the 2014 World Cup, Miguel Herrera will likely rely on experienced players with only a few youngsters to face La RojaThu, 04 Sep 2014 06:14:40 +0000Mexico's European Stars Called Uphttp://www.soccernewsday.com/usa/a/1663/mexico-s-european-stars-called-upMiguel Herrera now has a chance to integrate El Tri's European-based players into his tactical setup during next week's friendly in AtlantaThu, 27 Feb 2014 07:42:23 +0000Liga MX Full of Surpriseshttp://www.soccernewsday.com/usa/a/1646/liga-mx-full-of-surprises3 headlines from Liga MX that may be surprising but shouldn't beThu, 20 Feb 2014 07:43:08 +0000Questions Remain for Herrera and Mexicohttp://www.soccernewsday.com/usa/a/1619/questions-remain-for-herrera-and-mexicoIs Mexico better off without Carlos Vela? How well will Miguel Herrera integrate non-domestic talent into his team? Who makes the cut for Brazil?Thu, 06 Feb 2014 07:53:03 +0000Top 3 Stories From First Week of Clausura 2014http://www.soccernewsday.com/usa/a/1536/top-3-stories-from-first-week-of-clausura-2014There were 3 stories that stuck out from the first week in Liga MXFri, 10 Jan 2014 07:33:47 +0000Household Names Switch Sides Ahead of Clausura 2014http://www.soccernewsday.com/usa/a/1522/household-names-switch-sides-ahead-of-clausura-2014Several big names in Mexican soccer switched clubs after the AperturaThu, 02 Jan 2014 07:29:38 +0000How Leon Overcame Club America to Win Liga MX Apertura 2013http://www.soccernewsday.com/usa/a/1504/how-leon-overcame-club-america-to-win-liga-mx-apertura-2013With a 2-0 advantage from the first leg, León executed its gameplan perfectly to punish America and lift the trophyThu, 19 Dec 2013 07:42:08 +0000How Club Leon, Club America Reached the Liguilla Finalshttp://www.soccernewsday.com/usa/a/1486/how-club-leon-club-america-reached-the-liguilla-finalsWith the Mexican league playoff finals set to kick off tonight, here's a look at how the two teams made itThu, 12 Dec 2013 07:51:38 +0000Mexico Eases into the World Cuphttp://www.soccernewsday.com/usa/a/1428/mexico-eases-into-the-world-cupAfter a year to forget, Mexico qualifies for Brazil in raucous fashion, 9-3 on aggregateWed, 20 Nov 2013 08:09:12 +0000Mexico Quells Doubters in All Whites Play-Offhttp://www.soccernewsday.com/usa/a/1413/mexico-quells-doubters-in-all-whites-play-offA confidence-boosting 5-1 win at the Azteca puts Mexico one step away from the World CupThu, 14 Nov 2013 07:30:22 +0000U-17s Impress in Recent World Cup Run, Liga MX Rolls Onhttp://www.soccernewsday.com/usa/a/1388/u-17s-impress-in-recent-world-cup-run-liga-mx-rolls-onMonarcas Morelia won the cup, the U-17 national team plays a WC final and the regular season ends this weekendFri, 08 Nov 2013 07:49:53 +0000Herrera's Debut Showed Good and Ugly Glimpseshttp://www.soccernewsday.com/usa/a/1357/herrera-s-debut-showed-good-and-ugly-glimpsesIn Miguel Herrera's first match in charge, Mexico 4-2 but looked weak in defenseThu, 31 Oct 2013 08:10:28 +0000Mexico Stumbles but Stays Alive http://www.soccernewsday.com/usa/a/1302/mexico-stumbles-but-stays-alive-A late rally by the U.S. means that Mexico now move on to face New Zealand in a play-offWed, 16 Oct 2013 08:02:26 +0000Mexico Still in the Racehttp://www.soccernewsday.com/usa/a/1295/mexico-still-in-the-raceRaúl Jiménez's Chilena provided the spark to keep Mexico in the race to qualify for the 2014 World CupTue, 15 Oct 2013 07:59:42 +0000Roster Named for Vucetich's Debuthttp://www.soccernewsday.com/usa/a/1247/roster-named-for-vucetich-s-debutHow will Vuce fair in his debut match for El Tri?Fri, 04 Oct 2013 08:06:18 +0000Will Vuce Name the Best Players for Mexico?http://www.soccernewsday.com/usa/a/1191/will-vuce-name-the-best-players-for-mexico-Víctor Manuel Vucetich, one of the most decorated managers in Mexico, will look to save El Tri from itselfFri, 20 Sep 2013 08:00:40 +0000Mexico Falls 2-0 to the U.S. in Columbus, Againhttp://www.soccernewsday.com/usa/a/1156/mexico-falls-2-0-to-the-u-s-in-columbus-againFor the 4th consecutive WCQ cycle, the U.S. defeated Mexico 2-0 at Columbus Crew Stadium Wed, 11 Sep 2013 04:27:23 +0000Tena to Lead El Tri Against Depleted USAhttp://www.soccernewsday.com/usa/a/1151/tena-to-lead-el-tri-against-depleted-usaUnder new manager Luis Fernando Tena, Mexico will face an ailing US side Tue, 10 Sep 2013 04:16:45 +0000Honduras Overpowered Mexico, FMF Fires Chepohttp://www.soccernewsday.com/usa/a/1136/honduras-overpowered-mexico-fmf-fires-chepoAfter a promising 1st half for El Tri, Honduras stormed back inside Estadio AztecaMon, 09 Sep 2013 09:18:06 +0000Euro-based Players a Mixed Bag for El Trihttp://www.soccernewsday.com/usa/a/1103/euro-based-players-a-mixed-bag-for-el-triSeveral Mexican internationals at European clubs have been enjoying early season success but won't join the national team next weekFri, 30 Aug 2013 06:41:31 +0000