<![CDATA[SoccerNewsday.com Columnist Article Feed]]>http://www.soccernewsday.com/Wed, 29 Jun 2016 07:49:00 +0000Tue, 07 Jun 2016 21:15:30 +000060USMNT Report: Americans Shine With Backs Against the Wallhttp://www.soccernewsday.com/usa/a/2209/usmnt-report-americans-shine-with-backs-against-the-wallIt was a must-win game, and the USA certainly won ... convincingly.Tue, 07 Jun 2016 21:15:30 +0000On Support and Rivalries Following The Hudson Derbyhttp://www.soccernewsday.com/usa/a/2208/on-support-and-rivalries-following-the-hudson-derbyAfter a heavy New York City loss, I explore a productive approach to support and whether the Hudson Derby is still a "rivalry"Thu, 26 May 2016 16:30:16 +0000USMNT Report: Experimentation pays off against Puerto Ricohttp://www.soccernewsday.com/usa/a/2207/usmnt-report-experimentation-pays-off-against-puerto-ricoThe United States defeated Puerto Rico, 3-1, thanks to new faces and younger playersSun, 22 May 2016 12:55:52 +0000Hudson Derby Heated Despite Red Bull Fansí Silencehttp://www.soccernewsday.com/usa/a/2206/hudson-derby-heated-despite-red-bull-fans-silenceDonít let Red Bull fansí cautious silence fool you -- The New York Derby will be intense as everFri, 20 May 2016 07:21:25 +0000No Player Is 'Unbenchable,' Nor Should They Behttp://www.soccernewsday.com/usa/a/2205/no-player-is-unbenchable-nor-should-they-beVieira has shown that if Pirlo can be benched, anyone can, and thatís good for New York City FCTue, 26 Apr 2016 10:00:07 +0000MLS At 20 Isnít Perfect, But It Is A True American Sports Leaguehttp://www.soccernewsday.com/usa/a/2204/mls-at-20-isn-t-perfect-but-it-is-a-true-american-sports-leagueThe league is here to stay, and has established itself on the North American sceneMon, 18 Apr 2016 07:17:30 +0000This Yearís US Open Cup Is Going To Be A Lot Differenthttp://www.soccernewsday.com/usa/a/2203/this-year-s-us-open-cup-is-going-to-be-a-lot-differentFirst round matchups, second round possibilities to be set April 6Mon, 04 Apr 2016 16:19:56 +0000USMNT Report: Back to Normalcy, For Nowhttp://www.soccernewsday.com/usa/a/2202/usmnt-report-back-to-normalcy-for-nowIn Columbus, the United States trounced Guatemala 4-0 ó a welcomed victory after a defeat last weekTue, 29 Mar 2016 23:47:32 +0000USMNT Report: Who's to Blame?http://www.soccernewsday.com/usa/a/2201/usmnt-report-who-s-to-blame-USA fell to Guatemala, 2-0, at the Estadio Mateo Flores in Guatemala City. But who do fans blame?Sat, 26 Mar 2016 09:58:20 +0000Donít Get Too Excited About Your MLS Teamís Great Start to the Seasonhttp://www.soccernewsday.com/usa/a/2200/don-t-get-too-excited-about-your-mls-team-s-great-start-to-the-seasonRecent history shows March usually isnít a barometer of the season aheadFri, 18 Mar 2016 09:44:54 +0000These Two Clubs May Be MLS Darkhorses in 2016http://www.soccernewsday.com/usa/a/2199/these-two-clubs-may-be-mls-darkhorses-in-2016MLS CCL teams have games against strong opponents now but TFC and OCSC could be revelations at season-endThu, 03 Mar 2016 07:18:34 +0000More Growth, More changes for USL as New Season Nearshttp://www.soccernewsday.com/usa/a/2198/more-growth-more-changes-for-usl-as-new-season-nearsThe third-division league grows to 29 clubs for 2016Mon, 29 Feb 2016 14:12:22 +0000For 4 MLS Clubs, Champions League Is A Welcomed Sighthttp://www.soccernewsday.com/usa/a/2197/for-4-mls-clubs-champions-league-is-a-welcomed-sightBesides MLS and US Open Cup games, four clubs are preparing to advance in the CCL.Thu, 18 Feb 2016 07:26:25 +0000San Francisco Marks NASLís Long-Awaited Move Westhttp://www.soccernewsday.com/usa/a/2196/san-francisco-marks-nasl-s-long-awaited-move-westThe league finally expands to California after years of rumorsThu, 11 Feb 2016 07:20:25 +0000What You May Have Missed in North American Soccerhttp://www.soccernewsday.com/usa/a/2195/what-you-may-have-missed-in-north-american-soccerItís only a month into 2016 and US soccer (MLS, US men & women) are looking to a busy yearWed, 03 Feb 2016 07:01:14 +0000USMNT Report: The Defense Almost Ruined Ithttp://www.soccernewsday.com/usa/a/2194/usmnt-report-the-defense-almost-ruined-itThe USMNT has a strong start with a 3-2 win, but was it strong enough?Sun, 31 Jan 2016 17:17:47 +0000These Cities Want To Add MLS Stadiums This Yearhttp://www.soccernewsday.com/usa/a/2193/these-cities-want-to-add-mls-stadiums-this-yearNumerous stadium projects are ongoing as new season, expansion gets closerFri, 29 Jan 2016 07:11:28 +0000NYCFC Shrewdly Prepares For Its Second Seasonhttp://www.soccernewsday.com/usa/a/2192/nycfc-shrewdly-prepares-for-its-second-seasonNegotiating to acquire the first overall pick in the MLS SuperDraft and signing the best Left Back in Costa Rica are strokes of genius by NYCFCFri, 22 Jan 2016 06:24:24 +0000Good News For Fans From Seattle, Philadelphia And Chicagohttp://www.soccernewsday.com/usa/a/2191/good-news-for-fans-from-seattle-philadelphia-and-chicagoAlthough many teams came prepared, Union, Fire, & Sounders fans are expectedly eager for 2016.Wed, 20 Jan 2016 07:14:43 +0000The Susurration of the Soccer Alchemisthttp://www.soccernewsday.com/usa/a/2190/the-susurration-of-the-soccer-alchemistAn Ode to the players whose wizardry awes and inspires usFri, 15 Jan 2016 07:27:45 +0000