<![CDATA[SoccerNewsday.com Columnist Article Feed]]>http://www.soccernewsday.com/Sun, 07 Feb 2016 11:04:10 +0000Wed, 03 Feb 2016 07:01:14 +000060What You May Have Missed in North American Soccerhttp://www.soccernewsday.com/usa/a/2195/what-you-may-have-missed-in-north-american-soccerIt’s only a month into 2016 and US soccer (MLS, US men & women) are looking to a busy yearWed, 03 Feb 2016 07:01:14 +0000USMNT Report: The Defense Almost Ruined Ithttp://www.soccernewsday.com/usa/a/2194/usmnt-report-the-defense-almost-ruined-itThe USMNT has a strong start with a 3-2 win, but was it strong enough?Sun, 31 Jan 2016 17:17:47 +0000These Cities Want To Add MLS Stadiums This Yearhttp://www.soccernewsday.com/usa/a/2193/these-cities-want-to-add-mls-stadiums-this-yearNumerous stadium projects are ongoing as new season, expansion gets closerFri, 29 Jan 2016 07:11:28 +0000NYCFC Shrewdly Prepares For Its Second Seasonhttp://www.soccernewsday.com/usa/a/2192/nycfc-shrewdly-prepares-for-its-second-seasonNegotiating to acquire the first overall pick in the MLS SuperDraft and signing the best Left Back in Costa Rica are strokes of genius by NYCFCFri, 22 Jan 2016 06:24:24 +0000Good News For Fans From Seattle, Philadelphia And Chicagohttp://www.soccernewsday.com/usa/a/2191/good-news-for-fans-from-seattle-philadelphia-and-chicagoAlthough many teams came prepared, Union, Fire, & Sounders fans are expectedly eager for 2016.Wed, 20 Jan 2016 07:14:43 +0000The Susurration of the Soccer Alchemisthttp://www.soccernewsday.com/usa/a/2190/the-susurration-of-the-soccer-alchemistAn Ode to the players whose wizardry awes and inspires usFri, 15 Jan 2016 07:27:45 +0000The Timbers Are Taking 2016 Very Seriouslyhttp://www.soccernewsday.com/usa/a/2189/the-timbers-are-taking-2016-very-seriouslyThe MLS Cup champions have been busy ahead of big 2016 seasonThu, 14 Jan 2016 13:27:08 +0000Giovinco: Still Worst Signing in Toronto FC History?http://www.soccernewsday.com/canada/a/2188/giovinco-still-worst-signing-in-toronto-fc-history-How can goal scoring, record breaking, jersey selling Giovinco remains the worst signing in TFC history? Because of all of the above. Mon, 11 Jan 2016 07:17:04 +0000MLS Offseason Still Providing Many Storylines to Followhttp://www.soccernewsday.com/usa/a/2187/mls-offseason-still-providing-many-storylines-to-followEven though it’s the ‘downtime’ in soccer in the US, there’s lots to keep track ofFri, 08 Jan 2016 09:35:52 +0000New Era of MLS Free Agency Off to a Slow Starthttp://www.soccernewsday.com/usa/a/2186/new-era-of-mls-free-agency-off-to-a-slow-startThree players out of 27 have signed contracts with new teamsWed, 23 Dec 2015 07:18:28 +0000An Update on the American Soccer Scenehttp://www.soccernewsday.com/usa/a/2185/an-update-on-the-american-soccer-sceneUsually a downtime for soccer in the US, there’s lot of news coming out you should pay attention to.Wed, 16 Dec 2015 10:05:03 +0000MLS Offseason At Hand As Teams Are Ready To Make Moveshttp://www.soccernewsday.com/usa/a/2183/mls-offseason-at-hand-as-teams-are-ready-to-make-movesAs the 2016 MLS season is a couple months away, this offseason is even more importantFri, 11 Dec 2015 16:35:53 +0000Will Johnson Era In Portland Ends With Mixed Emotionshttp://www.soccernewsday.com/usa/a/2182/will-johnson-era-in-portland-ends-with-mixed-emotionsDwindling playing time likely sees the Timbers’ captain elsewhere in 2016Thu, 10 Dec 2015 07:13:59 +0000New York City FC is Not a ‘Farm Team’http://www.soccernewsday.com/usa/a/2181/new-york-city-fc-is-not-a-farm-team-Contrary to common perception, NYCFC is not, in reality, a “farm team”, and City Football Group has plenty of incentive to make sure of thatWed, 09 Dec 2015 12:59:05 +0000The 10 Most Surprising MLS Players In 2015 (Part 1)http://www.soccernewsday.com/usa/a/2180/the-10-most-surprising-mls-players-in-2015-part-1-Part 2 of 2 dissecting the 10 most surprising players of the 2015 MLS season and why their performance this season has left the experts in shockSun, 06 Dec 2015 12:31:27 +0000Timbers’ MLS Cup Appearance 40 Years In The Makinghttp://www.soccernewsday.com/usa/a/2179/timbers-mls-cup-appearance-40-years-in-the-makingSome highs, many lows since the appearance in the 1975 Soccer BowlFri, 04 Dec 2015 14:41:47 +0000One More Chance to Shine For Portland And Columbushttp://www.soccernewsday.com/usa/a/2178/one-more-chance-to-shine-for-portland-and-columbusWith Berhalter and Porter at the helm of their teams, both Crew SC and Timbers are ready for the MLS Cup FinalThu, 03 Dec 2015 10:01:04 +0000Don’t Forget To Appreciate MLS Coacheshttp://www.soccernewsday.com/usa/a/2177/don-t-forget-to-appreciate-mls-coachesAs the 2015 season ends, see how Jesse Marsch and Oscar Pareja molded their teams.Wed, 25 Nov 2015 07:11:35 +0000MLS Actually Has Very Good Goalkeepinghttp://www.soccernewsday.com/usa/a/2176/mls-actually-has-very-good-goalkeepingVeterans, newcomers, up-and-coming keepers give league deep pool of talentFri, 20 Nov 2015 17:35:51 +000010 Reasons To Be Optimistic About Vieira’s Hiringhttp://www.soccernewsday.com/usa/a/2175/10-reasons-to-be-optimistic-about-vieira-s-hiring Firing former MLS champion Jason Kreis after one season was ill-advised, but Vieira’s hiring could prove a shrewd moveThu, 19 Nov 2015 14:21:01 +0000